Southwest Wake Athletic all-conference boys lacrosse

Southwest Wake Athletic all-conference boys lacrosse team

mblake@newsobserver.comJune 6, 2014 

  • SWAC All-conference boys lacrosse

    Player of the Year: Colby Lalicker, senior, Apex

    Coach of the Year: Paul Robison, Middle Creek

    First team

    Colby Lalicker, senior, Apex

    Scott Baird, senior, Athens Drive

    Justin Medwar, senior, Middle Creek

    Mike Daum, senior, Apex

    Daniel McCauley, senior, Middle Creek

    Will Forrestal, senior, Holly Springs

    Wilson Booth, senior, Green Hope

    Peyton Smith, sophomore, Athens Drive

    Conor Gronbach, junior, Athens Drive

    Nick Arcuri, senior, Middle Creek

    Jack Doetzer, junior, Middle Creek

    Second team

    Chandler Besser, junior, Apex

    Brock Martin, junior, Athens Drive

    Cameron Randall, senior, Apex

    Matt Artman, senior, Panther Creek

    Mason Boone, senior, Holly Springs

    Joey Copeland, junior, Apex

    Nolan Paussa, sophomore, Green Hope

    Dylan Bryan, junior, Middle Creek

    Brendan Farrell, junior, Apex

    Tyler Nesbitt, senior, Apex

    Carter Rucker, senior, Panther Creek

    Jack Diebolt, junior, Middle Creek

Apex senior midfielder Colby Lalicker was voted player of the year by the coaches of the Southwest Wake Athletic Conference – known as Conference 3 by the NCHSAA as it also includes Pinecrest High (Southern Pines). Lalicker had 50 goals and 12 assists and was a force on faceoffs.

Middle Creek coach Paul Robison was voted lacrosse coach of the year.

Apex (19-3), which lost in the state championship game, also had senior midfielder Mike Daum (34 goals, 14 assists) on the first team. The Cougars had seven selections in all, adding second-teamers like junior attacker Chandler Besser (32 goals, 46 assists), defender Cameron Randall, defender Joey Copeland, attacker Brendan Farrell (41 goals, 10 assists) and senior goalie Tyler Nesbitt.

Middle Creek (16-2), which was co-conference champ, placed middie Justin Medwar (46 goals, 7 assists), attacker Daniel McCauley (40 goals, 18 assists), goalie Nick Arcuri and attacker Jack Doetzer (37 goals, 14 assists) on the first team. The Mustangs also added midfielder Dylan Bryan (14 goals, 13 assists) and long-stick midfielder Jack Diebolt to the second team.

Third-place Athens Drive had middie Scott Baird (35 goals, 21 assists), faceoff specialist Peyton Smith and attacker Conor Gronbach (38 goals, 19 assists) on first team and middie Brock Martin (28 goals, 14 assists) on second team.

Fourth-place Green Hope placed faceoff specialist Wilson Booth (26 goals, 16 assists) on first team and attacker Nolan Paussa (56 goals, 23 assists) on second team.

Senior Will Forrestal, an attacker, made first-team for Holly Springs (9-9). Midfielder Mason Boone was on second team.

Panther Creek (9-11) had two second-team selections: middies Matt Artman and Carter Rucker.

Cary (3-14), Pinecrest (3-13) and Fuquay-Varina (0-16) did not have an all-conference pick.

T1. Apex19-315-1
T1. Middle Creek16-215-1
3. Athens Drive12-512-4
4. Green Hope13-89-7
5. Holly Springs9-98-8
6. Panther Creek9-117-9
T7. Cary3-143-13
T7. Pinecrest3-133-13
9. Fuquay-Varina0-160-16

Blake: 919-460-2606; Twitter: @JMBpreps

Cary News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service