Carolina RailHawks

RailHawks take home Woosnam Cup

From staff reportsNovember 11, 2013 

The Carolina RailHawks did not end the season empty-handed.

The franchise claimed its second North American Soccer League Woosnam Cup in the past three seasons.

The Woosnam Cup is named after Phil Woosnam, the longtime commissioner of the original NASL. It’s given to the team at the end of the season with the most total points – regardless of season format.

The RailHawks had the second-best record in the spring portion of this year’s new split-season format and had the third-best record in the fall season. Carolina also won the Woosnam Cup in 2011.

Golden Boot: Another RailHawks player took home the NASL Golden Boot, given to the league’s top goal-scorer. Brian Shriver, who played locally for North Carolina in college, tallied 15 goals in league play.

He becomes the second RailHawks player to win the award, following Etienne Barbara in 2011. Shriver’s 16 goals, including U.S. Open Cup play, are tied for second in Carolina single-season history.

In three seasons, Shriver has 27 goals scored, behind only Barbara (29) in franchise history.

NASL Best XI: Shriver was the RailHawks’ lone representative on the NASL’s Best XI. He was one of three forwards on the team.

Unbeaten: There is no award for it, but the RailHawks were unbeaten in 16 league and U.S. Open Cup home games this year.

NASL champs: The New York Cosmos defeated the Atlanta Silverbacks 1-0 to win the NASL Soccer Bowl. The Cosmos won the fall season, while the Silverbacks were the spring season champ.

Cary News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service