NCHSAA 4A Mideast cross country regional

Green Hope girls dominate Mideast cross country regional

mblake@newsobserver.comOctober 28, 2013 

— It was no surprise that Broughton’s boys and Green Hope’s girls won 4A Mideast cross country regional titles Saturday at WakeMed Park in Cary.

The top four teams and top five individuals who were not on those teams qualified for this Saturday’s NCHSAA state championships at Beeson Park in Kernersville.

Broughton’s boys – the defending state champs – scored 24 points, easily besting other state qualifying teams: Apex (92), Green Hope (97) and Millbrook (134).

Apex’s Mihret Coulter (15:24) was runner-up to Broughton’s William Roberson by a second.

Cary’s Dean Abushouk (15:38, seventh) and Josh Barrett (15:43, 10th) and Fuquay-Varina’s Parker Lee (15:42, eighth) qualified for the 4A state championship as individuals. The top 20 were named to the all-region team, which included Apex’s Carl Geiger (16:06, 16th) and Wyatt Miller (16:19, 20th) as well as Green Hope’s Tom Nobles (15:42, ninth) and Brad Pehr (16:15, 18th).

Defending 4A champ Megan Sullivan of Broughton won the girls’ race.

Four-time reigning state champ Green Hope (36) who took the title ahead of Broughton (62), Millbrook (104) and Leesville Road (123).

Qualifying individually on the girls’ side were Panther Creek’s Rebekah Greengrass (18:44, fourth) and Bridgette Sullivan (19:19, 13th).

Green Hope had six all-region placers: Elly Henes (18:32, third), Katie Tomasi (18:51, sixth), Elisa Sargent (18:57, eighth), Reilly Caldwell (19:05, ninth), Theresa Enright (19:07, 10th) and Sarah Taylor (19:31, 16th).

Blake: 919-460-2606; Twitter: @JMBpreps

Cary News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service